The Most Common Types of Georgia Personal Injury Cases | The Brown Firm
Bodily harm can be one of many things. Several accidents fall under the personal injury category. And a lot, if not all of them, are found right here in the state of Georgia.
Some personal injuries are also due to someone else’s fault. Getting hurt is frustrating, but if it’s not your fault it makes the frustrations worse, especially if it could have been avoided.
In the following article, we’re going to look at the most common personal injury in GA and explain what to do after you’ve suffered a personal injury.
The most common types of personal injury cases in Georgia
Attorneys across the state of Georgia handle a variety of personal injury cases. The most common of them are:
- The dog bites
- Medical malpractice
- Motorcycle accidents
- Pedestrian accidents
- Bicycle accidents
- Boating accidents
- Car accidents
- Construction accidents
- Slide and fall
- Truck accidents
If you have been involved in a personal injury accident, we strongly recommend that you contact a personal injury attorney. The legal system is complicated and can help you navigate.
Georgia Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury
Every state has its statute of limitations. A statute of limitations is simply the time it takes to file a personal injury claim.
Georgia allows its victims of personal injury to file a lawsuit two years after the accident date.
You probably think this is a lot of time to file a personal injury claim, but if you are dealing with a lawsuit, it won’t take that long.
Your attorney will need as much time as possible to build your case. You also don’t want to wait long to speak to an attorney as your case is likely to contain time sensitive information.
Things like testimony and evidence gathering need to be gathered as soon as possible.
How personal injury compensation works
In the state of Georgia, we follow the rules of modified comparative negligence. These rules determine how much of your compensation, if any, you can collect.
When you receive your compensation, the dollar amount you receive is based on your injuries and damages.
Then your role in the accident will be determined. You might think the other party is clearly wrong, but maybe you were driving too fast. Then it can be assumed that you were responsible for 10% for the accident, so that you can only collect 90% of your statement.
So if you get $ 10,000, you can only collect $ 9,000.
If you were found largely culpable, you would not get any compensation at all. This is something your personal injury attorney will make sure nothing happens to you.
First step towards a successful personal injury case
To ensure that you have a successful personal injury case, the first thing you need to do is take care of your health.
You will have no case of personal injury at all if you do not receive medical treatment. Your medical records are used as evidence that you were injured in your accident.
Your doctor can view the severity of your injury to help determine how much your case is worth. Your doctors can also determine how you suffered your injury so that you can prove that the accident actually caused your injury.
Immediate medical treatment ensures two things. The first is that you are on your way to recovery and the second is that it will help you prove your case.
Talk to the insurance company
One of the worst things you can do is speak to the insurance companies after your accident. It rarely, if ever, helps your case, and it usually does the opposite.
Insurance companies have only one goal, which is to pay out as little money as possible. What they want to do is to throw away your case entirely.
The insurance company will attempt to get a recorded statement from you asking questions that could compel you to respond in ways that hurt your case. That saves them money.
The best thing that you can do for your case is to give your attorney all communication with the insurance company. They protect you from saying something that could harm your case.