Understanding Georgia’s Auto Accident Law Understanding Georgia’s Auto Accident Law Understanding Georgia’s Auto Accident Law
All motorists need to understand their legal obligations before they get behind the wheel. Understanding Georgian accident laws could protect you from significant legal troubles later.
Even a minor mishap can cause someone to file a lawsuit against you. Don’t assume that the laws are the same in every state as every state has different laws and requirements. Make sure you understand Georgia law before operating an automobile.
When in doubt, reach out to an experienced personal injury attorney.
What are the insurance laws in Peach State? As in most states, Georgia requires motorists to have minimum insurance.
The Georgia auto insurance requirements state that you must have at least the following:
- $ 25,000 for the injury or death of someone in an accident you caused. This person can be a passenger in your car, another driver, or a pedestrian.
- $ 50,000 for any injury or death to more than one person in an accident you caused, and
- $ 25,000 to cover property damage for a single accident caused by you.
Your insurance company can check your current insurance coverage. Most insurance companies can offer an instant upgrade to your policy if your coverage is missing.
Types of damage
Many people assume that their insurance company will take care of everything if they ever have an accident. However, they often find out too late that their insurance companies are not covering almost all of the costs incurred by the event.
A car accident can generate all sorts of unexpected costs. In addition to the cost of repairing or replacing your vehicle, you may need money for a rental car and lost wages. If you’re injured, you may also need medical care, which can add up quickly.
There will likely be long-term effects as well. You may be entitled to compensation for pain and suffering. You may even experience loss of affection or companionship. In the worst case scenario, you may be seeking an unlawful death claim.
A qualified Georgia auto accident attorney, auto accident attorney, or personal injury attorney can advise you of your best recourse should you need to seek compensation from a negligent driver.
Damage Awards Limits
The state of Georgia has multiple limits on auto accident claims.
Georgia does not limit the compensatory damage. Compensation claims apply to damage or injury caused by the negligence or illegal behavior of another person.
However, punitive damages in Georgia are capped at $ 250,000 with a few exceptions, including product liability, willful intent, and DUI. The judgment of punitive damages serves as a punishment for the accused and acts as a potential deterrent.
Statute of limitations
The state also provides a statute of limitations or a deadline for filing a lawsuit. If you’re seeking compensation for your injuries, you have two years from the date of a car accident in Georgia to file your claim.
In the event of property damage, you have four years from the time of the accident to file a lawsuit.
Georgian auto accident laws contain provisions on “fault” or “tort liability”. These provisions mean that if you are in a car accident and seek financial compensation from another driver, you must bear the burden of proof that the other party was at fault.
This doesn’t mean that the other driver must be entirely to blame. Georgian law allows for “modified comparative negligence”. In other words, a Georgia car accident can legally be more than one person’s fault. However, to claim compensation for injury or property damage, you need to be less guilty than the other driver.
A judge or jury will find a modified comparative negligence and a comparative error. If you are more than 50% guilty, you cannot claim compensation. Damage is reduced proportionally. For example, if you are found guilty of 30%, you can only claim 70% of your losses.
Any car accident can have serious, harmful effects. Searching for “car accident attorney near me” or “car accident attorney near me” online may give you many options, but it will not help you figure out who can help you deal with the consequences and the best remedies for you can inform.
Litigation Attorneys Atlanta
Contact Greathouse Trial Law in Atlanta, GA at (678) 369-6361 for a free consultation to learn more about your legal options and get the best possible result.
Disclaimer: The information in this blog post (“Post”) is for general informational purposes only and may not reflect the current law in your jurisdiction. The information contained in this post should not be construed as legal advice to the individual author or the law firm, nor is it intended as a substitute for legal advice on any particular topic. No reader of this post should act on or dispense with the information contained in or accessible through this post without seeking appropriate legal or other professional advice as to the particular facts and circumstances at issue with an attorney that is approved by the recipient state, state, or other suitable licensing jurisdiction.
Greathouse Trial Law
260 Peachtree Street NW
Atlanta, GA 30303
Copyright © 2020. Greathouse Trial Law. All rights reserved.